12 Teams to compete at XX Women’s Pan American Cup in Puerto Rico

PONCE, Puerto Rico, July 31, 2023.- Twelve teams are ready to compete at the twentieth Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup running from August 6-13 at the Juan “Pachín” Vicéns Auditorium in Ponce, Puerto Rico.

The tournament will grant two berths for NORCECA teams to the XIX Pan American Games of Santiago 2023 to be held from October 20 to November 5. These two will complete the list of four representatives from the NORCECA Confederation in the Pan American Games, Dominican Republic and Mexico are already qualified.

Reigning champion Dominican Republic winner of the past two editions (2021, 2022) with an overall of six titles, along with Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Suriname and United States represent the NORCECA Volleyball Confederation, while Argentina, Chile, Colombia and Peru are the teams representing the South American Volleyball Confederation.

In the history of the event, the United States has won the event on seven occasions, followed by Dominican Republic with six gold medals, Cuba with four and Brazil with three.

Teams are divided in two groups, with Group A consisting of Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Peru, United States and Suriname, and in Group B of Argentina, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Mexico and host Puerto Rico.

First place of each group will advance directly into semifinals, second and third places will play in the quarterfinal round.

The preliminary round runs from August 6-10 with six daily matches; quarterfinals, classification round for positions 7-10 and final classification for positions 11-12 will be played on August 11. The semifinals, classification round for positions 5-8 and final classification for positions 9-10 on August 12. The final day of competition on August 13 will start with the final classification for positions 7-10 and 5-6, followed by the bronze and gold medal matches.

Competition Schedule

Sunday August 6

10:00 United States v Suriname

12:00 Mexico v Argentina

14:00 Colombia v Peru

16:00 Cuba v Canada

18:00 Puerto Rico v Costa Rica

20:00 Dominican Republic v Chile

Monday August 7

10:00 Peru v Suriname

12:00 Costa Rica v Dominican Republic

14:00 Chile v Argentina

16:00 United States v Cuba

18:00 Mexico v Puerto Rico

20:00 Canada v Colombia

Tuesday August 8

10:00 Cuba v Suriname

12:00 Costa Rica v Chile

14:00 Peru v Canada

16:00 Colombia v United States

18:00 Dominican Republic v Mexico

20:00 Puerto Rico v Argentina

Wednesday August 9

10:00 Suriname v Canada

12:00 Mexico v Costa Rica

14:00 Cuba v Colombia

16:00 United States v Peru

18:00 Argentina v Dominican Republic

20:00 Chile v Puerto Rico

Thursday August 10

10:00 Colombia v Suriname

12:00 Costa Rica v Argentina

14:00 Mexico v Chile

16:00 Peru v Cuba

18:00 Canada v United States

20:00 Puerto Rico v Dominican Republic

Friday August 11

12:00 Classificatiion 7/10

14:00 Classificatiion 7/10

16:00 Position 11-12

18:00 Quarterfinals

20:00 Quarterfinals

Saturday August 12

12:00 Classificatiion 5/8

14:00 Classificatiion 5/8

16:00 Position 9-10

18:00 Semifinals

20:00 Semifinals

Sunday August 13

12:00 Position 7-8

14:00 Position 5-6

16:00 Bronze Medal Match

18:00 Gold Medal Match