30 Teams to Participate in the NORCECA Beach Tour in Managua

MANAGUA, Nicaragua, June 10, 2024.- The fifth stop of the 2024 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour, set to take place at Paseo Xolotlán in Managua, Nicaragua, from June 14 to 16, will feature 30 teams.

The sand courts at Paseo Xolotlán were constructed in 2017 for the Central American Games and will host the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour for the third time, following the 2019 and 2022 editions.

Fifteen pairs per gender are pre-registered for the competition, with final confirmations and group distributions to be announced the day before the event.

Nicaragua has two male duos, Rubén Mora and Dany López, the tournament’s top seeds and the most successful duo in Nicaraguan beach volleyball history, and Denis López with Alexander Meneses. In 2022, Rubén teamed up with Denis López to secure a bronze medal here in Managua.

Returning to defend their title from 2022 are Timothy Brewster and Kyle Friend from the United States, who also won silver at the first stop in Playa de Güibia this year.

Paseo Xolotlan

Luis García of Guatemala, who earned silver in Managua in both 2019 and 2022, will compete this time alongside Edgar Maldonado.

Puerto Rican duo William Rivera and Arnaldo Torres, who have been strong contenders this season, secured bronze at the third stop in Juan Dolio.

The remaining men’s teams are Braedon Cooke/ Connor Somerville (BER), Rouzbeh Rahnavard/ Tynan Gannett (CAN), Jesario Ebanks/ Stephen Watson (CAY), Stephen Watson/ Julián Araya Alas (CRC), David Vargas/ Gabriel Baltazar (ESA), Irvin Armando/ Manuel Alejandro Serrano Avalo (HON), Zendai Richards/ Clerique Ward (SKN), Darnel Eudoxie/ Rio Jaden Victor (LCA), Joshua Dwarkasing/ David Pinas (SUR), Kendall Ratter/ Marc Lomeli (ISV).

In women, Nicaragua’s Socorro López and Lolette Rodríguez aim to repeat their historic achievement of winning their first NORCECA Tour medal by finishing second in 2019. Nicaragua is also represented by Valeska Hernández/Nahima Silva and Ylimar Alvarado/Ella Resau.

Marie-Alex Bélanger of Canada, who won silver in Managua in 2022, returns with her partner Lea Monkhouse. As a team they secured their first medal together at the seventh stop of the 2023 Tour in El Salvador. Myriam Robitaille and Darby Dunn form the second Canadian team.

Completing the women’s pairs are Megan Hands/ Kayley Hamilton (BER), Maryn McCoombs/ Heather Thompson (CAY), Aliza Aguilar Delgado/ Laura Valentina Molina Alvarado (CRC1), Ximena Núñez/ Kianny Quesada (CRC2), Dana Funes/Keiry Guzmán (ESA), Maritza Zúñiga/Danna Aguilar (GUA1), Natalia Giron/Paola Alvarado (GUA2), Nicole Reinking/ Heather Friesen (USA1), Molly Shaw/ Chloe Loreen (USA2), Sarah Penner/ Jade Vitt (ISV).