Alayo and Díaz begin the Final undefeated focused on their Olympic qualification

JUAN DOLIO, Dominican Republic, May 12, 2024.- Cubans Jorge Alayo and Noslen Díaz began their participation undefeated in the NORCECA Beach Volleyball Continental Tour Finals being held on the beach of Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic .

Alayo and Díaz, champions of the 2023 Finals, seek to continue accumulating the points they need to qualify for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

In addition to Cuba, five more teams came out without defeats on the first day of competition.


In Pool B, Alayo and Diaz easily defeated Declan Van Dam/Stephen Watson of Cayman Islands 2-0 (21-6, 21-1) and in their second match outing they beat Guatemalans José Izaguirre/Luis García 2 -0 (21-5, 21-16).

Twin brothers Christopher and Yoel Guardado of El Salvador defeated Izaguirre/ García (GUA) 2-0 (21-15, 21-11) and Van Dam/ Watson (CAY ) 2-0 (21-18, 21-6).

In Pool C, Miguel Sarabia/Gabriel Cruz of Mexico beat Daniel Dyner/Jhostin Varela of Costa Rica 2-0 (21-14, 21-16) and Jamaar Cropper/Ronaldo Franklyn of St. Vincent 2-0 (21- 12, 21-9), while USA’s Miles Evans/Chase budinger defeated Cropper/ Franklyn (VIN) 2-0 (21-13, 21-9) and Dyner/ Varela ( CRC) 2-1 (21-15, 18-21, 15-6).


In Pool D, Nicaragua’s Rubén Mora/Dany López defeated Clerique Ward/Nage Hendrickson of St. Kitts & Nevis 2-0 (21-13, 21-7) and Joshua Dwarkasing/Ethan Asimia of Suriname 2-0 (21-10, 21-16), while Puerto Ricans William Rivera/Arnaldo Torres beat Dwarkasing/ Asimia (SUR) 2-0 (21-17, 21-15) and the duo of Ward/ Hendrickson (SKN) 2 -0 (21-10, 21-11).

In Pool A the only one without defeats was Canada with Samuel Schachter/Daniel Dearing who beat Tyler Penberthy/Bryce Mayer the U.S. Virgin Islands 2-0 (21-5, 21-10) and Dominicans Hayerling De Jesús/Oscar Martínez 2- 0 (21-14, 21-16), who only won their first match against Eddy Toro/Joshua Winklaar of Aruba  2-0 (21-11, 21-10).

Also in Pool A, Penberthy/ Mayer (ISV) beat Toro/ Winklaar (ARU) 2-0 (21-8, 21-6).

Pool-play continues on Monday, the Quarterfinals and the losers’ round.