Dominicans De Jesús/Martínez undefeated on the first day

SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic, April 5, 2024.- The pair formed by Hayerling De Jesús and Oscar Martínez from the Dominican Republic won their two matches on the first day of competition of the first stage of the NORCECA Continental Beach Volleyball Tour 2024 that takes place Play on the sand courts located on Güibia beach.

In the first match the Dominican duo easily dominated Robert Naarden/Keven Sporkslede of Suriname 2-0 (21-8, 21-14), while in the second game they beat the Costa Ricans Daniel Dyner/Justin Varela 2-0 (21- 15, 21-17).

Four other couples that won their matches on the first day were Tyler Penberthy/Bryce Myers of the Virgin Islands, who defeated Elkreen Morton/Clerique Ward of Saint Kitts 2-0 (21-10, 21-10) and Jorge Rosario/Rolvin Maldonado of the Dominican Republic 2-0 (21-12, 21-15), the American pairs of Timothy Brewster/Kyle Friend who defeated the Dominicans Jorge Rosario/Rolvin Maldonado 2-1 (21-11, 18-21, 15- 13) and in the second game to Elkreen Morton/Clerique Ward of Saint Kitts 2-0 (21-6, 21-10) and the other USA pair were Wyatt Harrison/Evan Cory who beat Jake McNeil/Alexander Russell of Canada 2-1 ( 14-21, 21-16, 15-12) and the Guatemalans Edgar Maldonado/Luis García 2-0 (21-17, 21-12), while Arran Chambers/Steven Abrams of Canada beat the Mexicans Ricardo Galindo/Isaías Aguirre 2-0 (24-22, 21-19) and Rubén Mora/Jefferson Cascante of Nicaragua 2-0 (21-19, 21-17).

The competition continues this Saturday starting at 8 am with the continuation of the preliminary round, while in the afternoon the quarterfinals and position matches will be played.

Men’s first day results:

CRC Daniel Dyner/Jhostin Varela d ESA Franklin Flores/Armando Guatemala 2-0 (21-13, 21-15), NCA Rubén Mora/Jefferson Cascante d ARU Eddy Toro/Gregory De La Cruz 2-0 (21-15, 21 -12), GUA Edgar Maldonado/Luis García d CAY Jesario Ebanks/Stephen Watson 2-0 (21-17, 21-14), GUA Franklin Flores/Armando d Robert Naarden/Keven Sporkslede 2-1 (15-21, 21 -16,15-11), MEX Ricardo Galindo/Isaías Aguirre d ARU Eddy Toro/Gregory De La Cruz 2-0 (21-17, 21-14), CAN Jake McNeil/Alexander Russell d CAY Jesario Ebanks/Stephen Watson 2 -0 (21-10, 21-7).