First Girls U17 Pan American Cup to be held in Guatemala

GUATEMALA CITY, Guatemala, May 22, 2024.- The first Girls U17 Pan American Cup, to be held from May 27 to June 1, will take place in Guatemala City, Guatemala, at the Dome Sports Center.

The Girls U17 Pan American Cup is an event that is part of the qualification system for the NORCECA U17 Continental Championship in 2025 and the age-group FIVB World Championship in 2026.

The details of the competition were announced by the president of the National Volleyball Federation of Guatemala, Enrique Santis Rangel, during a press conference.

Lic. Enrique Santis

“It is a great opportunity and a challenge to organize this event, for which we have been preparing for a long time. We are fostering new talents and laying the foundations for those who will represent our country in future competitions,” said Santis Rangel.

The tournament will have eight national teams competing, divided into two groups.

Group A includes Cuba, Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Peru, while Group B consists of Costa Rica, the host Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela.

Mexico is the current NORCECA U17 champion, a title they won last November in an extraordinary comeback from two sets down, winning 3-2 (23-25, 23-25, 27-25, 25-21, 15-5) against Puerto Rico at the Jorge Galeano Gymnasium in Tegucigalpa, Honduras.

The preliminary pool-play round begins on Monday, May 27, concluding on Wednesday, May 29, to determine the teams advancing directly to the semifinals. The second and third-place teams in each group will compete in the quarterfinals to determine the teams advancing to the medal rounds.

“Two years ago, the FIVB agreed to the creation of this category, so all the Confederations worldwide adopted this new competition system. This year, there is participation in the U17 World Championship. This event will serve for ranking purposes towards the 2025 NORCECA Continental Championship,” concluded Santis.

Schedule Preliminary Round

May 27

14:00    Peru vs. Dominican Republic

16:00    Mexico vs. Cuba

18:00    Puerto Rico vs. Venezuela

20:00    Guatemala vs. Costa Rica

May 28

14:00    Dominican Republic vs. Mexico

16:00    Peru vs. Cuba

18:00    Costa Rica vs. Puerto Rico

20:00    Venezuela vs. Guatemala

May 29

14:00    Mexico vs. Peru

16:00    Dominican Republic vs. Cuba

18:00    Costa Rica vs. Venezuela

20:00    Guatemala vs. Puerto Rico