Men’s Final Six Pan American Cup to be held in Tepic

TEPIC, Nayarit, Mexico, July 8, 2022.- Teams from Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, United States and defending champion, as well as host Mexico, will be competing in the Men’s Final Six Pan American Cup to be held at the Amado Nervo Auditorium of Tepic, Nayarit, from July 11 to 17.

The Pan American Cup Final Six is a competition in route to qualify for the 2023 NORCECA Continental Championship, the 2023 Pan American Games of Santiago and the 2023 Central American and Caribbean Games.

The current Pan Am Cup champion Mexico and Dominican Republic are already qualified to Santiago 2023.

Members of the Control Committee held a joint meeting with the organizing committee presided by Carolina Lugo, general director of the Sports Institute of Nayarit on Friday to evaluate and carry out a first inspection at the Amado Nervo Auditorium.

Manuel Calderon of the Mexican Volleyball National Federation presented a report of all the facilities prepared for the competition, to which Ariel Saiz, competition director said to be satisfied pointing out the positive disposition of the sports authorities of Nayarit and of the Mexican Volleyball National Federation.

The competition starts on Monday with a preliminary round robin to determine the four teams moving into semifinals. The fifth and sixth seeded teams will meet for the decision of the last two places before the semifinals between the first seeded facing the fourth seeded and the third against the second. The winners will play for the gold medal and the losers for the bronze medal.

NORCECA Men’s Final Six venue Amado Nervo Auditorium of Tepic, Nayarit

Monday July 11

16:00 Cuba v Dominican Republic

18:00 United States v Canada

20:00 Mexico v Puerto Rico

Tuesday July 12

16:00 Puerto Rico v Dominican Republic

18:00 United States v Cuba

20:00 Mexico v Canada

Wednesday July 13

16:00 United States v Puerto Rico

18:00 Canada v Cuba

20:00 Mexico v Dominican Republic

Thursday July 14

16:00 Canada v Dominican Republic

18:00 Cuba v Puerto Rico

20:00 Mexico v United States

Friday July 15

16:00 Puerto Rico v Canada

18:00 United States v Dominican Republic

20:00 Mexico v Cuba

Saturday July 16

16:00 Fifth v Sixth

18:00 Second v Third

20:00 First v Fourth

Sunday July 17

17:00 Bronze Medal

19:00 Gold Medal