Nicaragua Wins the AFECAVOL Women’s Final Four Championship

Tegucigalpa, Honduras, June 15, 2024. – The Nicaraguan women’s team defeated El Salvador 3-0 (25-12, 25-18, 25-19) to become the champions of the first AFECAVOL Women’s Final Four.

The Nicaraguan team claimed the title undefeated, having won their first two matches against Honduras and Costa Rica. They needed to win against El Salvador on Saturday to secure the championship, regardless of the later match between Honduras and Costa Rica.

Brittany Forbes NCA


Nicaragua was dominant in attacks and serves, outscoring El Salvador 41-26 in attacks and 7-2 in aces. El Salvador led in blocks, 5-4.

Nicaragua’s attack was led by Brittany Forbes, who scored 14 points, including 3 from serves, and Hellen Traña, who scored 12 points, with 2 from serves and 1 block, causing significant trouble for El Salvador.

Dalia Conto NCA – Tatiana Menjivar ESA

El Salvador’s offense was weakened from the beginning of the second set when Tatiana Menjívar was injured. Marcela Alejandra Soriano and Daniela Alexandra López each scored 6 points.