NORCECA Tour Finals start Friday in Punta Cana

PUNTA CANA, Dominican Republic, December 8, 2022.- The 2022 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour Finals, the beginning of the Olympic Qualification System of NORCECA to Paris 2024 kicks off on Friday with the preliminary pool-play.

The Beach Volleyball Director of the Dominican Republic Volleyball Federation, Amos Anglada, welcomed the 24 participating teams on behalf of NORCECA President Cristóbal Marte Hoffiz during the General Technical meeting on Thursday, that opened with a minute of silence in memory of Dr. Roosevelt Comarazamy, NORCECA Press Officer who recently passed away.

Amos Anglade, was accompanied by Oscar De La Cruz, representative of the Dominican Ministry of Tourism.

Julio Martínez, Competition Director explained that teams are distributed in three pools of four, starting with the modified pool-play round on Friday at 9:00 am (local time).

In women, United States registered Betsi Flint and Julia Scoles who won the silver medal a few days ago at the Beach Pro Tour Elite 16 in Torquay, Australia.

As well as Puerto Ricans Allanis Navas and María González winner of the first Central American and Caribbean Games of Sea and Beach in Santa Marta, one gold medal and two silvers in this NORCECA Tour season.

Also Amanda Harnett and Marie-Alex Bélanger of Canada will aim for their first gold medal after winning three bronze medals and a silver this year.

In the men’s division Cubans Noslen Díaz and Luis Alayo opened the tour winning the first stop in Aguascalientes, and winning a silver and a bronze, as well as finishing champions in Santa Marta.

Juan Virgen returns with teammate Miguel Sarabia of Mexico, this 2022 they won a silver and bronze.

While Andy Leonardo and Luis García of Guatemala finished second place in Managua and Cayman Islands.

Women’s Pools: Pool AUnited States, Jamaica, Costa Rica, Cuba; Pool B Mexico, Canada, El Salvador, U.S. Virgin Islands; Pool C Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Guatemala.

Men´s Pools: Pool A United States, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico; Pool B Canada, Cuba, El Salvador, U.S. Virgin Islands; Pool C Dominican Republic, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica.

Women’s Teams

CAN Amanda Harnett/Marie-Alex Bélanger; CRC Angel Williams/Kianny Araya Quesada; CUB Charlot Deroncele Nahomi/Dayani Zerqueira Morera; DOM Bethania Almanzar/Crismil Paniagua; ESA Yvonne Soler/Sofía Velásquez; GUA Natalia Girón/Naomi Monney; JAM Petal Smith/Kelly Chauna; MEX Atenas Gutiérrez/Abril Flores; NCA Socorro López/Lolette Rodríguez; PUR Allanis Navas/María González; USA Betsi Flint/Julia Scoles; ISV Amber Bennett/Taylor Buchner

Men’s Teams

CAN Samuel Schatcher/Daniel Dearing; CRC Jhostin Varela/Daniel Dyner; CUB Noslen Díaz/Jorge Luis Alayo; DOM Oscar Martínez/Hayerling De Jesús; ESA Franklin Flores/David Vargas; GUA Andy Leonardo Blanco/Luis García; JAM Mark Blake/Owayne Lawrence; MEX Juan Virgen/Miguel Sarabia; NCA Ruben Mora/Jefferson Cascante; PUR Franco Roark/Lorenzo Antonio Rivera; USA Chaim Schalk/Theodore Brunner; ISV Bryce Mayer/Travis Edward Lee