NORCECA Women’s Continental Championship to take place in Quebec

QUEBEC, Canada, August 28, 2023.- The 2023 NORCECA Senior Women’s Volleyball Continental Championship will be taking place in Quebec, Canada, running from August 29 to September 3at the PEPS’ Amphithéatre Desjardins-Université Laval.

Seven women’s national teams will be competing during six days, including the defending Olympic champions the United States, NORCECA defending champions the Dominican Republic, Cuba, Costa Rica, Mexico, Puerto Rico and host Canada.  

Teams are divided in two groups, Pool A consisting of Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico, while Cuba, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic and the United States are in Pool B.

After the first three days of pool-play, pool winners advance into semifinals, second and third places will contest in quarterfinals.

The tournament will be livestreamed on:

Cuba is the top winner in the history of the event with 13 titles, 7 silver and 2 bronze medals; followed by the United States with a total of 8 gold medals, 12 silver and 3 bronze medals. Reining champs Dominican Republic has 3 gold medals, having won the past two editions (2021, 2019), they also have 3 silver and 5 bronze medals.

Preliminary round schedule

August 29

1:30pm United States v Costa Rica

5:00pm Dominican Republic v Cuba

7:30pm Canada v Mexico

August 30

1:30pm Cuba v United States

5:00pm Costa Rica v Dominican Republic

7:30pm Puerto Rico v Canada

August 31

1:30pm Cuba v Costa Rica

5:00pm Puerto Rico v Mexico

7:30pm United States v Dominican Republic