Samuel Schatcher and Daniel Dearing win the NORCECA Tour Finals

PUNTA CANA, Dominican Republic, December 11, 2022.- Samuel Schatcher and Daniel Dearing of Canada won the 2022 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour Finals in an extended 2-1 (16-21, 21-19, 15-12) to Noslen Díaz and Luis Alayo of Cuba on Sunday in Punta Cana.

Samuel Schatcher scored an ace to celebrate with Daniel Dearing their gold medal win against a strong Cuban duo and the rough wind in Punta Cana.

Sam and Daniel lost to Díaz and Alayo in pool-play which added an extra pressure in the anticipating final match.

After winning the gold, Daniel explained the difference between their previous match against Cuba “watching painful video of losing a match and readjusting, making corrections; it’s painful to watch your mistakes and try to do better. Cuba is such a good team that it still came down to a slim difference”.

Sam said “it was very difficult and exciting, Cuba is extremely talented. I’m so blessed to have such a talented partner that did so well and steady the entire time. It was windy out here and the conditions were difficult to play in, the level was very high”. About scoring an ace for the win he added “when it comes down to the wire, we are very aggressive, we can live with our mistakes, and I went for it”.

Samuel Schatcher and Daniel Dearing of Canada

Schatcher and Dearing reached the title match winning their semifinal to Chaim Schalk and Theodore Brunner of the United States 2-0 (21-19, 21-17). While Díaz and Alayo came into the gold medal match after a rough three-set win 2-1 (18-21, 21-17, 16-14) to Juan Virgen and Miguel Sarabia of Mexico.

Schalk and Brunner won the bronze medal to Virgen and Sarabia 2-0 (21-15, 21-18).

In fifth place, Andy Blanco/Luis García of Guatemala defeated Jhostin Varela/Daniel Dyner of Costa Rica 2-0 (21-14, 21-19). Earlier Varela and Dyner beat Dominicans Oscar Martínez and Hayerling De Jesús 2-0 (21-17, 21-19) who ended the event in seventh place.

Bryce Mayer and Travis Lee of the U.S. Virgin Islands beat Franklin Flores and Pepe Vargas of El Salvador 2-0 (21-19, 21-18) for ninth place; while eleventh place went to Mark Blake and Owayne Lawrence of Jamaica defeating Puerto Ricans Franco Roark/Lorenzo Rivera 2-0 (21-17, 15-21, 15-7).