Ten teams to compete at the Women’s Pan American Cup in Hermosillo

HERMOSILLO, Sonora, Mexico, August 19, 2022.- Ten teams will be competing at the nineteenth Women’s Pan American Cup that begins on Sunday at the Sonora Arena in the city of Hermosillo, Sonora.

Reigning champion Dominican Republic, winners of the 2021 edition held in Santo Domingo, along with Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico and the United States represent the NORCECA Volleyball Confederation, and Colombia along with Peru the South American Volleyball Confederation (CSV).

In the history of the event, the United States has won on seven occasions, followed by Dominican Republic with five titles, Cuba with four and Brazil with three.

Teams are divided in two groups of five with group A consisting of Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Peru, Puerto Rico and the United States and group B with Canada, Colombia, Cuba, host Mexico and Nicaragua.

The preliminary round runs from Sunday 21 to Thursday 25; quarterfinals and classification matches for 7/10 places will take place on Friday 26. The semifinals and final positions 7/10 will be held on Saturday 27, while medal matches along with the match for fifth place will take place on Sunday 28.

The event will be streamed on Facebook Live Codeson Sonora

Competition Schedule

Sunday August 21

14:00 Dominican Republic v Costa Rica

16:00 Canada v Cuba

18:00 United States v Peru

20:00 Mexico v Nicaragua

Monday August 22

14:00 Dominican Republic v Peru

16:00 Colombia v Canada

18:00 United States v Puerto Rico

20:00 Mexico v Cuba

Tuesday August 23

14:00 Peru v Costa Rica

16:00 Cuba v Nicaragua

18:00 Dominican Republic v Puerto Rico

20:00 Mexico v Colombia

Wednesday August 24

14:00 United States v Costa Rica

16:00 Canada v Nicaragua

18:00 Puerto Rico v Peru

20:00 Cuba v Colombia

Thursday August 25

14:00 Puerto Rico v Costa Rica

16:00 Colombia v Nicaragua

18:00 Dominican Republic v United States

20:00 Mexico v Canada

Friday August 26

14:00 Classification 7/10

16:00 Classification 7/10

18:00 Quarterfinals

20:00 Quarterfinals

Saturday August 27

14:00 Position 9-10

16:00 Position 7-8

18:00 Semifinals

20:00 Semifinals

Sunday August 28

14:00 Position 5-6

16:00 Bronze Medal Match

18:00 Gold Medal Match