Three USA Men duos move forward in Tlaxcala

TLAXCALA, Mexico, October 9, 2023.- American duos Andy Benesh/Miles Partain, Theo Brunner/Trevor Crabb, and Chase Budinger/Miles Evans, became on Sunday one of the first men’s teams to advance to the elimination rounds in the Tlaxcala 2023 Beach Volleyball World Championship.

Benesh and Partrain, with three wins in their three Pool C matches in Tlaxcala, the winners of this year’s Volleyball World Beach Pro Tour Gstaad Elite16 finished in first place in the pool and completed the first round of the tournament undefeated.

Watch the 2023 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Championships live on VBTV.

On Sunday, at the Tlaxcala Bullring, the 28-year-old Benesh and the 21-yer-old Partain trailed for the first time in the event but raised their game to beat French Youssef Krou and Arnaud Gauthier-Rat 2-1 (16-21, 21-15, 15-10) in a rainy match to keep their clean record.

Ranked fourth in the FIVB Beach Volleyball Men’s World Rankings, the Americans now focus on the Round of 32, which begins on Wednesday.

One of the toughest pools in the event, Pool D had a lot of turnarounds on Sunday before ending with Americans Theo Brunner and Trevor Crabb in first place and Ukrainians Sergiy Popov and Eduard Reznik in second place. Last-minute entrants Chase Budinger and Miles Evans of the United States finished third and continue in the tournament.

Beach Volleyball World Championships – Match Schedule and Results

Pool play will be completed on Monday, when 16 men’s matches will be played and the remaining eight pools will be set. The ‘lucky loser’ round will be played on Tuesday, ahead of the Round of 32, on Wednesday.


Benesh/Partrain 2-0 (21-9, 21-14) v Peter/Hernan (FIVB); 2-0 (23-21, 21-17) v Mol H./Berntsen (NOR); 2-1 (16-21, 21-15, 15-10) v Krou/Gauthier-Rat (FRA).

Crabb Tr/Brunner 1-2 (20-22, 21-18, 7-15) v Popov/Reznik (UKR); 2-0 (21-18, 21-18) v Evans/Budinger (USA); 2-1 (19-21, 21-19, 15-12) v George/Andre (BRA).

Evans/Budinger (USA) 0-2 (17-21, 22-24) v Geroge/Andre (BRA); 0-2 (18-21, 18-21) v Crabb Tr/Brunner (USA); 2-0 (21-15, 21-11) v Popov/Reznik (UKR).