Two-time champions Pinkin de Corozal reach Semifinals

BAYAMÓN, Puerto Rico, March 20, 2024 – The national champions Pinkin de Corozal (14-10) narrowly defeated  Valencianas de Juncos (11-13) on the final day of the 2024 regular season of the Women’s Superior Volleyball League (LVSF), securing the second position and a direct ticket to the semifinals.

Corozal won 25-18, 25-20, and 25-13, at the José “Pepín” Cestero court in Bayamón.

The champions earned the three points they needed to reach 39 points and bring their record to 14-10, just like Atenienses, but Corozal won the series 3-1 against Manatí and secured the second spot and the last vacancy in the semifinals alongside the leaders Cangrejeras de Santurce (19-5).

Corozal did not have the reinforcement of Emma Clothier, who was on the bench but did not play.

Dominican reinforcement Yanlis Feliz was the top scorer for the champions with 22 points, 19 in attacks, two in blocks, one ace, 10 digs, and 12 passes; Daly Santana contributed with 13 points, all in attacks, seven digs, and eight passes; Isabella Bergmark with seven points, four in attacks, and three blocks; and Génesis Castillo and Adriana Rodríguez with six points each.

No players for Juncos scored double digits. Elissa Alcántara and Sh’ Diamond Holly each scored eight points.

The Pinkin return to Corozal

In a communication sent to the team representatives, the tournament director of the LVSF, José “Picky” Servera, announced that the representative of the champions, Lillibeth Rojas, “informed us that her team will return to play their matches in Corozal regardless of tonight’s result”.

Pinkin played the entire 2024 regular season at the Pepín Cestero court in Bayamón due to renovations being carried out at the Carmen Zoraida Figueroa court in Corozal.

Quarterfinals begin Thursday in Juncos

Valencianas de Juncos will host the Criollas de Caguas this Thursday, March 21, starting at 8:00 p.m. at the Rafael G. Amalbert Coliseum for the start of the quarterfinal Series B of the LVSF.

The quarterfinal series will be played up to a maximum of five games (5-3).