United States, Mexico, Canada, and the Dominican Republic in Women’s Semifinals

JUAN DOLIO, Dominican Republic, May 13, 2024 – The women’s teams from the United States, Mexico, Canada, and the Dominican Republic reached the semifinals of the tournament that will determine the winner of the 2024 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour Continental Final.

Molly Shaw/Chloe Loreen from the United States defeated Guatemala’s Danna Aguilar/Paola Alvarado 2-0 (21-8, 21-4) in quarterfinals, while Atenas Gutierrez/Susana Torres from Mexico advanced after overcoming Puerto Ricans Allanis Navas/María González, recovering from losing the first set 2-1 (14-21, 21-19, 15-12).

Unites States

The other two pairs that advanced were Canada’s Sarah Pavan/Molly McBain, who dominated Cubans Amanda Armenteros/Maykelin Drik 2-0 (21-12, 21-10), while Dominicans Julibeth Payano/Crismil Paniagua secured their spot after defeating Nicaragua’s Socorro López/Lolette Rodríguez in three sets with a score of 2-1 (21-15, 18-21, 15-12).

In semifinals, Payano/Paniagua (DOM) will face Pavan/McBain (CAN) and Torres/Guttierrez (MEX) go up against Shaw/Loreen (USA).

Sarah Pavan CAN

The semifinals and position matches will be held on Tuesday morning, while the event concludes in the afternoon with the bronze medal match and the grand finale.

Other results of the day were:

Julibeth Payano/Crismil Paniagua (DOM) d Danna Aguilar/Paola Alvarado (GUA) 2-0 (21-16, 21-11); Daniel Vigil/Karla Tovar (ESA) d Nyota Peters/Dana Regis (ANT) 2-0 (21-7, 21-5); Molly Shaw/Chloe Loreen (USA) d Socorro López/Lolette Rodríguez (NCA) 2-0 (21-8, 21-6); Thornia Mitchell/Renisha Stafford (GRN) d Shanadia Sylvester/Nikita Campbell (VIN) 2-0 (21-10, 21-18); Atenas Gutierrez/Susana Torres (MEX) d Kianny Quesada/Laura Molina (CRC) 2-0 (21-10, 21-8); Amanda Armenteros/Maykelin Drik (CUB) d Ketura Heymans/Simone Elizee (SUR) 2-0 (21-5, 21-7); Sarah Pavan/Molly McBain (CAN) d Allanis Navas/María González (PUR) 2-0 (21-11, 21-16); Cristina Almeida-Anz/Taylor Buckner (ISV) d Heather Thompson/Maryn McCoombs (CAY) 2-1 (21-9, 20-22, 15-9); Ketura Heymans/Simone Elizee (SUR) d Shanadia Sylvester/Nikita Campbell (VIN) 2-1 (21-15,11-21, 15-7); Heather Thompson/Maryn McCoombs (CAY) d Nyota Peters/Dana Regis (ANT) 2-0 (21-7, 21-7); Cristina Almeida-Anz/Taylor Buckner (ISV) d Daniel Vigil/Karla Tovar (ESA) 2-0 (23-21, 21-10) and Kianny Quesada/Laura Molina (CRC) d Thornia Mitchell/Renisha Stafford (GRN) 2 -0 (21-14, 21-12).