USA’s Evans/Budinger Win Gold in NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour Final

JUAN DOLIO, Dominican Republic, May 14, 2024. – The United States’ duo of Miles Evans and Chase Budinger defeated Canadians Samuel Schachter and Daniel Dearing 2-0 (21-18, 21-19), to claim the top honors in the 2024 NORCECA Beach Volleyball Tour Final at the sand courts of Juan Dolio beach.

In the semifinals, Evans/Budinger overcame Jorge Alayo and Noslen Díaz from Cuba 2-0 (21-9, 21-17); while Schachter/Dearing bounced back from losing the first set against Miguel Sarabia and Gabriel Cruz from Mexico 2-1 (18-21, 21-18, 15-7).

Canada 2nd place

This was the third occasion that Canadians Sam and Dan competed in a Continental NORCECA Tour Final; they won the first Continental Final in 2022 against Cubans Alayo/Díaz, and last year, they took home the silver medal against the same Cuban duo.

Cubans Jorge Alayo and Noslen Díaz didn’t leave empty-handed and secured the bronze medal after defeating Mexicans Miguel Sarabia and Gabriel Cruz 2-0 (21-13, 21-14).

Cuba 3th place

Fifth place went to William Rivera/Arnaldo Torres from Puerto Rico, who defeated Tyler Penberthy/Bryce Mayer from the U.S. Virgin Islands 2-0 (21-19, 21-19), while seventh place went to Nicaraguans Rubén Mora/Dany López, who prevailed over Christopher and Yoel Guardado from El Salvador 2-0 (21-14, 21-13).

In ninth place were Dominicans Hayerling De Jesús/Oscar Martínez after defeating Daniel Dyner/Jhostin Varela from Costa Rica 2-0 (21-17, 23-21). Joshua Dwarkasing/Ethan Asimia from Suriname took eleventh place, winning against José Izaguirre/Luis García from Guatemala 2-1 (15-21, 21-12, 15-9).

Jamaar Cropper/Ronaldo Franklyn (VIN) finished thirteenth, overcoming Clerique Ward/Nage Hendrickson (SKN) 2-0 (21-17, 21-12), while Eddy Toro/Joshua Winklaar (ARU) reached fifteenth place winning against Declan Van Dam/Stephen Watson (CAY) 2-1 (19-21, 21-16, 15-9).

Other results of the day were:

Rivera/Torres (PUR) d Christopher Guardado/Yoel Guardado (ESA) 2-0 (21-16, 21-15) and Penberthy/Mayer (ISV) d Rubén Mora/Dany López (NCA) 2-0 (21-7,21-10); Samuel Schachter/Daniel Dearing (CAN) d Sarabia/Cruz (MEX) 2-1 (18-21, 21-18, 15-7) and Miles Evans/Chase Budinger (USA) d Alayo/Díaz (CUB) 2-0 (21-9, 21-17).