Tlaxcala NORCECA Olympic Tournament grants Beach Volleyball Continental Quota

TLAXCALA, Mexico, June 18, 2024. – The NORCECA Olympic Beach Volleyball Qualification Tournament will grant the continental quota for both men’s and women’s teams to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. The tournament will start on Friday, June 21, at the Tlaxcala Bullring in Mexico.

The Olympic race for the NORCECA Confederation was developed in three phases, involving the 2022, 2023, and 2024 Continental Tour Finals. From these events, twelve teams per gender have qualified to compete in Tlaxcala.

One team per gender will qualify to the Paris Olympic Games, which run July 26-August 11.

According to the regulations, only two teams per country can participate in the Olympic Games. Thus, four duos from the United States (two men’s and two women’s), Canada in women and Cuba in men, earned an Olympic berth by finishing among the top 17 of their gender’s FIVB Olympic Rankings within the qualification period, which ran January 1, 2023, to June 9, 2024.

These are the 24 teams that will compete from Friday, June 21, to Sunday, June 23, in the NORCECA Olympic Qualification Tournament.

Women: Heather Bansley/Sophie Bukovec (CAN); Anija Delapenha/Brianna Delapenha (CAY); Ximena Núñez/Kianny Araya Quesada (CRC); Jubileth Payano/Crismil Paniagua (DOM); Daniela Vigil/Karla Tovar (ESA); Thornia Mitchell/Renisha Stafford (GRN); Paola Alvarado/María Andrea Orellana (GUA); Atenas Gutiérrez/Susana Torres (MEX); Socorr López/Lolette Rodríguez (NCA); Allanis Navas/María González (PUR); Shaniva Balkaran/ Janneke Tammenga (SUR); Amber Bennett/Taylor Buchner (ISV).

Men: Samuel Schachter/ Daniel Dearing (CAN); Daniel Dyner/Jhostin Varela (CRC); Hayerling Goris/Oscar Martínez (DOM); Yoel Guardado/Christopher Guardado (ESA); Andy Leonardo/Luis García (GUA); Ricardo Galindo/Juan Virgen (MEX); Rubén Mora/Dany López (NCA); Arnaldo Torres/William Rivera (PUR); Nage Hendrickson/ St Clair Hodge (SKN); Keven Sporkslede/Joshua Dwarkasing (SUR); Joel Theodore/ Stephen Enile (TTO); Bryce Mayer/ Tyler Penberthy (ISV).

The women’s team that wins Olympic Qualifer will join the pairs of Melissa Humana-Paredes/Brandie Wilkerson from Canada and Taryn Kloth/Kristen Nuss and Kelly Cheng/Sara Hughes from the United States in Paris.

In the men’s field, the champion team will join Jorge Alayo/Noslen Díaz from Cuba and the U.S. teams of Andy Benesh/Miles Partain y Chase Budinger/Miles Evans.