Olympic Qualifier Tournament Host Cities Unveiled

LAUSANNE, Switzerland, June 16, 2023.- Following the announcement of the host countries for the FIVB Road to Paris Volleyball Qualifier events to be held this year, the FIVB have confirmed the host cities that will welcome the world’s best teams competing for spots at the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

The Women’s OQT’s will take place from 16-24 September 2023

Pool A – Ningbo, China

Pool B – Tokyo, Japan

Pool C – Lodz, Poland

The Men’s OQT’s will take place from 30 September to 8 October 2023

Pool A – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Pool B – Tokyo, Japan

Pool C – Xian, China


Women’s Tournament

Pool A (Ningbo, China) – China, Serbia, Dominican Republic, Netherlands, Canada, Czechia, Mexico, Ukraine

Pool B (Tokyo, Japan) – Japan, Brazil, Turkey, Belgium, Bulgaria, Puerto Rico, Argentina, Peru

Pool C (Lodz, Poland) – Poland, Italy, United States, Germany, Thailand, Colombia, South Korea, Slovenia

Men’s Tournament

Pool A (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) – Brazil, Italy Iran, Cuba, Ukraine, Germany, Czechia, Qatar

Pool B (Tokyo, Japan) – Japan, United States, Slovenia, Serbia, Turkey, Tunisia, Egypt, Finland

Pool C (Xian, China) – China, Poland, Argentina, Netherlands, CanadaMexico, Belgium, Bulgaria


Twelve teams per gender will participate in the Olympic volleyball competition at the Olympic Games Paris 2024. As the host nation, France, the current men’s Olympic volleyball champions, has secured its place in both the men’s and women’s competitions. The other 11 quota places per gender will be allocated via a two-step qualification process that ensures the best volleyball nations can participate at the event while observing the principle of universality.

In particular, six Olympic quota places per gender will be contested during the Olympic Qualification Tournaments where the top 24 teams as per the FIVB Volleyball Senior World Ranking (WR) not yet qualified will be split into three pools of eight teams. The top two teams of each pool will then qualify for Paris 2024.

The remaining five places per gender will be filled by selecting the top five not yet qualified teams in the FIVB WR as of the end of the preliminary phase of the Volleyball Nations League 2024. To guarantee the principle of universality, these teams will be selected as per the following order of priority: 1) The team(s) from a continent(s) without a qualified team(s) and 2) Top team(s) not yet qualified.