USA, Cuba, Argentina, and Chile advance in Men’s Beach Volleyball

SANTIAGO, Chile, October 23, 2023. – Logan Webber/Hagen Smith of the United States, Noslen Díaz/Jorge Alayo of Cuba, Argentina’s pair Nicolás and Tomás Capogrosso, and cousins Marcos and Esteban Grimalt of Chile advanced to the quarterfinals of the Men’s Beach Volleyball tournament at the Santiago 2023 Pan American Games.

In Group B, Smith/Webber of the United States defeated Hans Hannibal/Nicolás Llambías of Uruguay 2-1 (21-16, 19-21, 15-12) to secure the top spot in the group. Ruddy Salvatierra/Luis Calvo of Bolivia won 2-0 (21-15, 21-14) against Andy Leonardo/Luis García from Guatemala.

In Group C, Diaz/Alayo (CUB) triumphed 2-1 (21-16, 18-21, 15-8) against George/André of Brazil to advance to the quarterfinals. Ruddy Salvatierra/Luis Calvo (BOL) won 2-0 (21-16, 21-18) against the duo of Armando Guatemala/Frankñin Flores from ESA.

In Group D, Nicolás and Tomás Capogrosso (ARG) defeated Jake MacNeil/William Russell of Canada 2-0 (21-14, 21-12) and secured the first place in the group and their ticket to the quarterfinals. Dany León/Marcos Tenorio of Ecuador won 2-0 (21-19, 21-14) against Daniel Dyner/Jhostin Varela (CRC) and finished second in the group.

In Group A, M.Grimalt/E. Grimalt (CHI) won 2-0 (21-17, 21-16) against Mexico’s tandem  Miguel Sarabia/Juan Virgen. Giuliano Massare/Gonzalo Melgarejo (PAR) won 2-0 (21-13, 21-17) against Rubén Mora/Dany Lopez (NCA).

Esteban Grimalt y Marco Grimalt CHI

These are the Round of 12 matches scheduled for Tuesday, with the winners advancing to the quarterfinals on Wednesday:

MacNeil/Russell (CAN) vs. Hannibal/Llambías (URU); the winner will face Grimalt M./Grimalt E. (CHI)

George/André (BRA) vs. Giuliano/Gonzalo (PAR), and the winner will go against Capagroso N/Capagrosso T (ARG)

León/Tenorio (ECU) will face Salvatierra/Calvo (BOL), and the winner will face Diaz/Alayo (CUB)

Sarabia/Virgen (MEX) vs. Noriega/Murray (COL), with the winner going against Smith/Webber USA.

Classification for 13th-16th place:

Dyner/Varela CRC – Mora/López (NCA)

Guatemala/Flores ESA- Blanco/García GUA